Improvise

[Manage]

It always used to bothered me when people would talk about how you have to work for good things to happen. There are exceptions, the little things, but now I think I’m finally starting to understand the quote:

Nothing worth having comes easy

I constantly find myself in situations where I can’t even picture a possible outcome for the upcoming month. It has almost become a routine of working hard for an unknown outcome that will be revealed at the very last possible moment; and when that outcome is revealed, we have to work with what we have to continue on past that “start” line. Sometimes we won’t have the resources to continue forward smoothly, and it is at these times that we have to improvise.

To succeed, planning alone is insufficient. One must improvise as well. - Isaac Asimov

To succeed, planning alone is insufficient. One must improvise as well. – Isaac Asimov

The first few times I found myself in sticky situations I did not know how to handle it. What do you mean I have absolutely no idea or control over an important life decision that just happens to be taking place next month? But as I got older, I started to realize that this really is how life is, and if I ride that twisted wave the right way, I’ll end up with the best possible outcome.

For example, I have written in a previous post that Egypt was not a part of the plan. And now it has been a crazy year since I “ended up here” and it has been the most amazing year of my life. I am 100% sure that I would have never gained the experience or met people like the people I know now if life had played out the way I wanted it to.

In a few weeks I’ll be done with my first year of university. I can remember my exact emotions this time last year; I had no idea if university was in my future, or if anything good would come of my being here, and now I’m on the complete other side of the spectrum. As another summer approaches I once again find myself facing a giant question mark. But this time I’m not worried, I’m ready for the next adventure that awaits me.

-NooreoG

