Fear is the Mind Killer

[Fear]

I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.

— Frank Herbert

Being afraid often holds us back. It keeps us from seeking our true potential. We should feel confident exploring outside our comfort bubble; expanding it. I am not saying we should be reckless, but we should not prevent ourselves from living!

I am not afraid what lies before me. I know that whatever happens to me will be what is best for me. However, I am worried about ruining the goal that I visualize by spending too much time on petty desires. But at the same time it would be a shame to miss out on the adventures that life has to offer.

That brings to question if our fate is inevitable or not. Whether the choices we freely make will eventually lead us to our final destination.

So what would you choose? To take a leap of faith knowing that there is a possibility you will get hurt from the fall. Or will you wait patiently for a mediocre version of your future to be forced upon you?

I’m taking a leap of faith. And if I crash I know that I will find the strength to get back up again. I refuse to let fear stop me from achieving my full potential. Once we pass over that barrier that our fear has formed, it will vanish, leaving us to continue our lives full force.

only i will remain

–NooreoG

