Wide Awake – Eid Mubarak

[Reality]

I feel like I’m dreaming.

This past week I had the sudden realization that hey, I’m still here. The Holy month of Ramadan has come to an end and now it is Eid al Fitr (Eid means ‘celebration” and Fitr means “breaking fast”). As you may have read in my previous post, this was my first ever Ramadan in Egypt with the family. So now this is my first Eid in Egypt too.

I woke up early morning and went to Eid prayer with the family. It was beautiful! The mothers of the community were passing out little gift bags to all of the children. Little girls were also passing around candy to everyone there. Many were dressed in their new Eid clothes. It was an amazing sensation.

After prayer we went home and had breakfast; my favorite part of Eid. The rest of the day was spent with family and friends. It has been amazing seeing my cousins dressed up in their special Eid clothes. It was even better seeing their faces light up when they would receive “Eidaya” which is a gift of money.

Lets not forget about the “Kahk”! Kahk is the traditional Eid cookie! So during Eid you basically enjoy a time of “all the kahk you can eat”!

It really is a holiday that brings family, friends, and the muslim community together. Technically Eid is only one day; however, it is celebrated for 3 consecutive days. Today is day 2, and I have yet to see what awaits me.

-NooreoG

