Baby Steps

[Tolerance]

“Ignorant is not a synonym for “stupid.”

I’ve always been in a position where I felt that I knew enough to pass that imaginary line that separates those who know and those who don’t. But here I am, thrown into a completely new surrounding where I know nothing. Here I am unable to use most of the knowledge I have obtained from my past, because it is irrelevant here.

I’ve been here for roughly two months and everything still feels brand new. Summer is slipping through my fingers. Each and every time I blink my surroundings manage to change. Where did all the time go? I find myself with an agenda, that I was hoping to have completed by now, completely untouched. But you know what, it’s okay! Everything happens in due time.

With every week that has passed so far, I find myself as a broken record. I am waiting and anticipating the future to hit me. I just want to feel like I’m out of this waiting place.

You can get so confused

that you’ll start in to race

down long wiggled roads at a break-necking pace

and grind on for miles across weirdish wild space,

headed, I fear, toward a most useless place.

The Waiting Place…”

                                                     – Dr. Seuss

Baby Steps

 

As impatient as I am, I can do nothing but take baby steps.

Once upon a time I told my sister that she was in a cocoon, and soon she would break from that cocoon and turn into a beautiful butterfly. I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but this is a cocoon phase for me – a transition. As the end of Ramadan gets closer, I find myself more and more anxious to what awaits me. Life during Ramadan is not like life during any other time of the year. Once the month ends I feel like I might be thrown into the usual fast paced lifestyle that Egypt has. And I’ll be honest… I’m terrified.

-NooreoG

