Perspective

[Accepting]

I’m on a roller coaster inching towards the top of the slope… before the drop.

I hit a slump. I let the idea of my life being at a standstill get to me. I should be happy that I get the chance to have a break from everything. I’m on a roller coaster slowly dragging up the top of the highest slope. The drop down looks steep and the twists and turns of the rails before me look intense. But from where I am the view is beautiful.

Every day I look out the window to a view of buildings. Boring buildings. One day I woke up late in the afternoon and looked out the window; I was completely mesmerized by those boring old buildings.

They are beautiful! Then it hit me, this is my life now, and I am surrounded by a compelling place. It’s all about your perspective.

Perspective

Noun / pərˈspektiv /

perspectives, plural

A particular attitude toward or way of regarding something; a point of view

I needed to change my perspective. So this week I looked at everything around me in a different light. And this is what I found.

            Alexandria, Egypt:

This city its own special flow; the movement of everyone can be so absurd yet it meshes together perfectly. The tram, cars, people, and sometimes animals, all share the same roads in an interesting chaotic harmony that can’t be matched anywhere else in the world.

I know… there are no animals in this picture, but if you were sitting next to me in the car and looked out the other window you would find a guy driving (steering? leading? riding?) a donkey cart!


On every corner, intersections included, there is a street vendor. Each vendor adds a splash of color, making what I saw even more beautiful.

I love that I’m here, a lot more than I thought I would.  I am witnessing history happen in person. I get to see the changes, feel them, and be impacted by it all. For the first time I feel like I’m a part of something. I really hope that maybe one day I’ll be able to do something to help contribute to the many changes that this country is going through.

It’s funny how changing your perspective can honestly change everything about your life. If you told me last year I would be this happy and excited living in Egypt with a new found interest in everything that’s going on in not only Egypt but the world; I’d probably laugh in your face and tell you to stop attracting ‘negative thoughts’. But here I am… in love it all so far.

-NooreoG

