A Year Ago Today

A year ago today…

I was sitting at the dining room table, frustrated and confused with the standstill I found my life at. I had just left everything I knew behind and moved back “home”. Ironically home – Egypt – was foreign to me. I knew nothing, I knew nobody, and I had no idea what the future had in store. My friends were preparing themselves for university while I was trying to figure out whether or not I would be allowed to apply. It’s funny looking back at that angry girl, that angry scared girl who knew nothing. But back then I had learned my lesson, partly, and had faith that whatever was to happen would be what was best, and I surpassed any expectations I might have had for myself.

Moving to Egypt was not part of my plan at all, but I am pleased to say that it has been the best thing that has happened to me to date. I have done things that I did not think I was capable of doing. Countless moments I have found myself experiencing things I never imagined I would be a part of, or things I never imagined I’d do, or even found myself experiencing traditions for the very first time. This last year has surprised me.

“The secret of CHANGE is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new

- Socrates

In high school I wasn’t the most involved person out there. I sat back and let life drag me by. But a year ago today I made the choice to start changing my lifestyle. I still remember the conversation I had with my mother. She has always tried to get me to start a blog, and I finally listened. Her encouraging words that day triggered something. It has been a long and hard journey but in the last year I am proud with what I have accomplished.  It was long past time for me to get up and stop letting life drag me on. I got involved in as many things I could handle and started taking my education more seriously. I joined organizations and started mini projects for myself, like this blog, and I have grown as a person. And apart from that I have also been blessed with meeting a few of the most amazing people I have ever met, and creating a stronger bond with my extended family.

DSC04545

In the last year, I feel as though I have somewhat started to make my mark; I’m starting to find my place. It is finally starting to hit me – I’m not a little girl anymore. I am ready for the future to come, for I anticipate the endless possibilities and achievements that can be mine.

A year ago today, If that person sitting at the table could see me now, she would be proud of the progress that she has made in the last year.

-Noor Gharbo

